Slowly but surely…getting there!

GF


I thought that my first post should be about appreciating the fact that I could not have made it this far without my family. Yay! It finally feels like my family are coming to terms with the idea that I can’t eat certain foods. It’s the best feeling ever hearing my mum talk to people and trying to make them understand about Coeliac Disease. It’s still hard because there are times when the family are eating foods that I can’t eat..but (even though it will never taste like the real thing which this is something I will have to accept) my mum has been attempting to make a gluten-free version of most foods so that I’m not sitting there eyeing up everyone else’s food (& drooling) because I’m unable to eat what everyone else is eating.

The only thing I get really irritated about is when I go to parties or family-gatherings and there are specific members of the (extended) family who make a big fuss about the fact that I’m not eating. The whole time..they’re sitting there feeling sorry for me but I’m sitting there feeling so annoyed. They just don’t seem to understand the fact that I don’t want to eat anyway (most of the time) because I’ve already prepared a meal so I won’t be going hungry and that I’m happy with a mere drink! I know I will eventually find a way to deal with this too, but for now, it’s annoying.

Leave a Reply

