Missing the Moo

Hey GFrees,

So I’ve recently been reading up on “Leaky Gut Syndrome” (I’ll talk about this in another post very soon) and I decided that I was going to go dairy-free. I had spoken to my GP about it and he suggested that it’s pointless because symptoms of lactose intolerance didn’t match up with what I was telling him and symptoms are usually immediate – if I don’t need to run to the loo immediately after having cheese or milk, it’s highly unlikely that I am lactose intolerant.

I decided to trust my gut (it doesn’t lie!) and put dairy to the test. I decided to be very strict with milk and cut it out from my diet. Those of you who know me, must know that I do love my milk and CHEESE! But I thought that I would start small. I removed milk from my diet and noticed that whenever I reintroduced it, I would get an itch, lose my appetite and feel nausea. Great! Trust the gut! I haven’t been drinking cow’s milk for around 2 months now but I have been having the odd (wad) of cheese and chocolate. However, I’ve decided that in order to heal my gut in hope that after a year or so of going dairy-free I may be able to reintroduce it back in to my diet without any symptoms, I need to be very strict.

I spoke about going dairy-free with my consultant who I still see at the hospital every 6 months and to be honest, he was very rude. He said “If you feel dairy causes you problems then it doesn’t take a genius to realise you need to cut it out of your diet.” Errr hello – RUDE! Anyhoo, since the start of September, I have gone all dairy-free and brought dairy-free cheese and spread and decided I will resist having cheeky chunks of chocolate. It’s not been bad so far..however, the cheese is Bad. Also, today I attempted to make some mashed potatoes and it was a disaster. It was nowhere near as creamy as the usual mash that I enjoy; the Violife cheese didn’t melt (at all), the spread didn’t really make a difference (at all), the mash didn’t really taste of anything (at all). I think if all the cheeses taste like the Violife one, I may have to just get used to life without cheese. The spread isn’t so bad on bread/toast though.

Do you have any tips? Have you ever considered going dairy-free? If you are already, what do you find difficult about being dairy- and gluten-free?

Leave a Reply

